Writing For Myself

IMG_3840When you sit down to write, who are you talking to? When your pen touches the paper, when your fingers tap down on your keyboard, who are you writing for? Who are you telling your thoughts, feelings and fears to? Your hopes and dreams. Is it me, or you?

Over the last few days, I’ve been experimenting with a different tone on this blog. Instead of sharing the best places to eat or visit, I’m sharing something far more personal – I’m sharing me.

I’ve been exploring my writing style, and for the first time in a long time I’ve been writing without the expectation you’ll read it. Just allowing myself to jot down these words and allow the thoughts to leave my mind and imprint something more permanent.

As you sit and embrace them by reading this, the notion that I’m writing for me and not you may seem strange, but in the words of Cyril Connolly, “Better to write for yourself and have no public, than to write for the public and have no self.”

I hope it goes without saying that by writing this way, it doesn’t mean I’m not thinking about you too – I want you to be able to take something valuable from everything I write, whether that’s something to think about, or a boost of confidence. The whole reason I became a writer was to be able to craft beautiful stories that touch people in some way. But to be able to give you this, I need to be the best I can be and to do that, I need to discover who I am.

That’s why I’ve been stripping it right back and just letting the words pour out, without putting pressure on myself to craft the perfect piece. I’ve been allowing myself to write therapeutic posts that help me grow because they allow me to release these thoughts and feelings, instead of posts on what I think I ought to write about to be heard and noticed.

My last few posts might not be filled with words of wisdom or gems of advice, they might not make the perfect tweet or Instagram quote, but they are filled with my integrity and my truth. By writing this way, I’m projecting my vulnerability and flaws as I explore a more personal style and tone. I’m opening myself up to my own critique as I write, publish and reflect, and allowing myself to discover my identity as a writer.

By publishing these posts, I’m encouraging myself to be brave. And I hope, in some little way, they encourage you to be brave too.

2 thoughts on “Writing For Myself

  1. I actually find it hard to be me on my blog, it’s brave to let the words just flow and to be unapologetic – I’m looking forward to reading more and seeing your talents shine through the words. Gooooo you!

    • Hi Christina, thank you so much for commenting! I agree, it’s so hard. If I can be brave though, so can you. Trust your talent and hit that publish button! Xx

Leave a Reply

