Image

Southwold Travel Guide in Pictures

Living in London is lush, but when you come from the countryside, or valleys in my case, sometimes you miss green open space and great British seaside. When I lived in Wales, I’d spend my summer holidays in Tenby on the Welsh coast. Now that I live in the city, the beautiful village of Southwold in Suffolk is my new escape and holiday destination.

I wrote a little piece on Suffolk last year on my blog, so this year I thought I’d just put together a little mini travel guide full of pictures for you all so you can see its beauty for yourself.

How to get here from London:
I have family living in Southwold, so I get the train from Liverpool Street Station to Darsham (swap at Ipswich), which is just a 15/20 minute drive from the village. Book it well in advance and you can get it for about £18 return.

Where to stay:

There are three main hotels in the village; The SwanThe Crown Hotel and The Blyth, which will cost a penny or two. Or, you can stay in a beautiful Airbnb home.

What to do:

Get the ferry (rowing boat) to Walberswick and have afternoon tea in the local cafe.
Get lost in the Maize Maze and race your friends around the Go Kart track.
Take a walk to the beautiful working harbour and have fresh seafood straight from the net.
Pack your sandals and walk across the promenade to see the famous beach huts.
Brave the wind and walk along the pier.
Grab your trainers and go for a coastal walk along one of the many beaches.
Try your luck a little surfing in the local surf school.


                                                      

Leave a Reply

