Image

Eat | Mr Buckley’s

It’s rare that you see me in photos with Aaron on this blog. It’s usually one of us taking the pictures, either him attempting to shyly hide from my invading camera or me, looking like a bit of tit attempting to pose in front of his iPhone. Luckily for me though, my brother came to visit a few weekends ago and took some shots for me, which allowed us to avoid the usual awkwardness.

When Corey visits, I always feel the need to explore London a little. He’s kind of a tourist after all, so I end up taking him to places I’ve never been or restaurants I’ve never eaten at. On this particular weekend, we walked the length of Hackney Road and came across a little place called Mr Buckley’s (Head to their website, they have quite an interesting story about where the name came from).

Mr Buckley’s is a hip little restaurant that serves all-day, modern European brunch and dinner. The menu, which changes seasonally, is small, but covers everything from Scottish black pudding to one of my favourite meals, shaksouka – a Tunisian dish with baked eggs, spiced tomato sauce and Mediterranean veg. I opted for added chorizo too, obviously. Who turns down chorizo? Shaksouka is my feel-good meal and one I make at home when I want something simple and nourishing yet full of flavour. Add a slice of crunchy toast and you’ve got yourself one bloody gorgeous dish.

As well as a restaurant, Mr Buckley’s also has a basement bar ready to serve you cocktails until 2am on the weekend, including their Bloody Madison – a bacon infused bourbon with tomato and chipotle spices. I went for something a little less daring and tried one of their fresh green juices packed with celery, cucumber, kale, apple and mint. The perfect accompaniment to my spicy shaksouka. My brother decided to try their French toast (I did hint, but I wasn’t given any unfortunately) and Aaron went for their succulent minute steak with poached egg on sourdough toast. Obviously, Aaron had already eaten this by the time I got the camera ready, which was literally about a minute after the food arrive. In fact, he probably ate it quicker than it took to cook.

I also found out that they do a salted caramel and chocolate tart after I left too. Big regret not looking at the desserts! I’ll save that for next time…

If you fancy trying out Mr Buckey’s, head to 277 Hackney Road. Give them a follow on Twitter – @MrBuckleys – for all the latest updates

DSC_1005

DSC_1029

DSC_1041

DSC_0992

DSC_1045

DSC_1047  DSC_1059

DSC_1060

DSC_1076

DSC_1052

Mr Buckley's Mia Holt

Leave a Reply

