Image

Amsterdam In Pictures

You know what it’s like, you go away on holidays, become overwhelmed with the need to capture everything and before you know it you have over 300 pictures taking over your camera roll. That’s exactly what happened to me when I hit the streets of Amsterdam last weekend. I couldn’t help myself, especially when I was in such a beautiful city.

You may have already read my little city guide on Tuesday, but today is more about showing you some of my favourite snaps from our weekend away. The city is just too picturesque to keep your camera in your pocket. It has the iconic canals all dotted with houseboats and mini rowers, the historic buildings which lean awkwardly towards to water (Amsterdam is apparently sinking), and the endless bicycles which race around the narrow lanes. They all coming together to give you the perfect backdrop for a city photo shoot – with the city itself as the blushing model.

What I loved most about the city was its character. The way the houses didn’t quite line up with one-another, the fact most of the pubs felt like they hadn’t changed in 20 years and the feeling that this city has a history and a story to tell.

You’d be surprised what sights you see if you look at the top of the buildings too – it gives you a different view point. If you look up, you can see how they’ve moved over the years, and how their imperfection gives makes them special. So always remember to look up.

One of my favourite pictures has to be the last one. He clearly was not impressed with my sneaky snap.

Which one is your favourite? Tweet me @miaholt
IMG_6549 IMG_6550 IMG_6548 IMG_6674 IMG_6571 IMG_6561 IMG_6546 IMG_6415 Amsterdam - Mia Holt

3 thoughts on “Amsterdam In Pictures

Leave a Reply

