5 Top Tips For Redheads

IMG_4254.JPG

Anyone who has ever dyed their hair red, knows it’s a bugger when it comes to fading. You dye it a luscious ruby red on the Monday and by the following Wednesday, you’re left with a ginger wash out. Believe me, having dyed my hair red since I was 17, I feel your pain. But, my long-term membership to the redheaded club means over the years I’ve definitely managed to pick up a few handy tips that have helped me keep my locks rouged. First of all, I should tell you that I only dye my hair every 6-8 weeks and I try to only wash it every other day or so. When it comes to dying it, I basically leave it grow out for as long as I possibly can until my mousy blonde/grey makes itself known. When I do eventually dye it, I only ever dye the roots and drag the colour through the rest of my hair instead of dying my whole head. 

I’m no expert, but here are some handy tips and products to help lock in that colour for longer.

1. Ice ice baby

Every once in a while, usually straight after dying and then maybe once more in the month, I’ll wash my hair with cold water. Like freezing cold, almost unbearable water (obviously do it to the level you’re comfortable with.) Apparently, this helps keep the shine to your hair by making your hair cuticles lie flatter. It might be an urban myth, but it seems to help hold onto the colour a little longer for me anyway!

2. Colour me in

It’s an obvious one, but buying a shampoo and conditioner that’s specially formulated to looking after coloured hair is a must. I tend to switch between L’Oreal Elvive Colour Protect and the Tresemme Colour Revitalising Shampoo. Both of these are targeted for coloured hair and therefore formulated to protect and nourish hair that’s been through the dying works.

3. Regret me much

When you’ve had a little bit of a red dye disaster and your hair comes out in a colour that’s not even recognised on the spectrum or found in nature, there are a few things you can do to calm it down a little. First, try washing it with a little Fairy Liquid as this strips the colour back. Or alternatively, buy a bottle of Head and Shoulders shampoo which will also do the same. Make sure you condition your hair thoroughly after this to give it a little love.

4. Wear a mask

Every now and then, I like to treat my hair to a little pamper evening. Firstly, as well as using conditioner and shampoo every time I wash, I also use a scalp protector for the top of my hair and roots. My favourite one at the moment is the Tresemme Nourish & Renew Conditioner Masque which uses tea tree and sunflower oil to nourish your scalp. Perfect when you’ve just used a strong dye on your hair. For a treat, I’ll use my Bleach London Reincarnation hair mask. These girls are hair-dying experts so I think they definitely know a thing or two about caring for red hair! I’ll sit back, cover my hair with the mask and wrap it in a warm towel for 20 mins whilst catching up with a few blogs. Easy!

5. Top up please

If I feel like my hair is lacking a little oomph, but i’m not ready to dye it just yet, I’ll buy a wash in colour which adds some fresh tones to my locks. I usually avoid the roots and just add a little to the end. Perfect when you have an event coming up or you just want a little berry boost. It also means you don’t have to dye again so soon and risk damaging it.

Do you have any tips on how to keep your red hair bright?

Leave a Reply

