Hello I’m Mia and I’m a trainee journalist.

Bute Building – Cardiff University 



Yup, that’s right. I finally started my postgrad course on Monday and now I’m officially a Cardiff University postgraduate magazine student! (yay!). 


After graduating from my BA Hons journalism degree in 2012, I made the decision to take some time out to sort out my funds and to gain a little industry experience. I was lucky enough to be given a job in Media Wales which meant I spent 9 months having a very good insight into the world of newspapers. During my time working for the company I was given the opportunity to write some really interesting stories, including a few front pages, but my heart stayed with magazines. 

Magazines intrigue me. Like most young girls, I was addicted to magazines. I wrote to them, created my own versions and cut out my fave pictures to stick in my little magazine scrap book, so knowing that I’m one step closer to having my own real input to the industry makes things very exciting! 

Leading up to my course, I spoke to a lot of editors, bloggers and friends about what they thought about the postgrad and I faced a lot of different opinions on it. Most, if not all, of the editors said they really valued a postgrad and all commented on the reputation that Cardiff University has. However, I did have a few people question my decision mainly because of the cost and the fact that there are other ways to make it in the industry. Nowadays anyone can be a journalist. 

Personally, I believe the course is invaluable and vital. In today’s society and today’s industry, I think it’s incredibly important to have a strong knowledge of the industry and not just a talent to write. I believe that I have a responsibility to know the legal aspects of a story that I’m writing, which is why I believe that learning about media law is essential for any young wannabe journo – something that this course will teach me. 

Yes, it’s costly but I believe that it’s very important and I can’t wait to develop as a journalist over the next few months. 

So what does it mean to my blog?

The course itself is pretty intense so unfortunately I’m not going to be able to blog quite as much as before. I’ll try my best to post on the weekends but for the next few months, I really need to put my all into this course. Although we do have to create a new blog so keep an eye out for that! 

I have a few posts coming up this week so make sure you keep checking the blog. 

Oh, and lucky for me fellow Welsh blogger Georgia Hathaway from Fashion Oyster is also on the course! She’s the sweetest most genuine person and it does help having someone you know there so you can both support each other during the tough days! (which I’m sure there’ll be a lot of!) 

Anyway, I’d better head off. 


Love you lots 

By Mimi x

One thought on “Hello I’m Mia and I’m a trainee journalist.

Leave a Reply

